A Simple Love Song

Years ago I came up with a catchy tune but could never put words to it. One day I met a girl, the most beautiful girl I had ever encountered. When she smiled her eyes glowed and my heart stopped. Only minutes after meeting her I was completely in love. She was not only beautiful but the most kind, intelligent, and sincere woman I had ever met. Two weeks passed, and to my great dismay, it was time for her to get on a plane and return to England. We embraced and shared out first kiss; I didn’t want to let her go. My heart was broken, because I knew she was the one I wanted to spend the rest of my life with. I picked up my guitar and began to play the catchy tune I had written; but, unlike before, words began to pour out of my heart. This is a simple love song written by a twenty year old boy hopelessly in love. After all these years, it still speaks to how I feel about my darling wife . . .

Leave a Reply

